How Insomniac’s Social Media Strategies Turned Me Into A Brand Advocate

563650_10151459322038888_1189336280_n In the first part of this blog post, I went over Insomniacs Events brand story and how they executed it with killer content on their social channels. For this post, I want to share my story of how I became a brand advocate to Insomniac Events because of their social media strategies. It all begin with my first experience at EDC (Electronic Daisy Carnival) in Las Vegas in 2011. A friend encouraged me to join them at this music festival and after watching their trailer. I was convinced and bought my ticket. The moment came to attend EDC, and it became one of the most fun and memorable experiences I have ever had! As this event ended, I made sure to start following Insomniac Events on all my social media pages to stay informed of upcoming events. As I began to follow them on all their main social channels, (FB, Twitter, IG) I noticed that they placed a big emphasis on sharing stories from their brand advocates called “Headliners.” It was intriguing content because its stories spoken with a relatable voice and a sassy personality. At that time, most of the social content of my favorite brands were messaged very generic with no personality. Insomniac’s post instantly intrigued me and overtime their post continued to improve with powerful stories and rich visuals. Pasquel Rotella   The CEO of Insomniac Events, Pasquale Rotella, also plays a big role in the content strategy of Insomniac as he has become a contributing storyteller in Insomniac’s social channels. The result of Pasquale’s contributions to Insomniacs social pages has garnered a large following of Insomniac followers on his personal social channels and has become an extended voice to the Insomniac brand. Being the loyal Insomniac “Headliner”, I am, I began to follow him and heavily engage with this his posts. Then, the moment came that forever strengthen my loyalty with Insomniac. I engaged in real conversation with Pasquale Rotella! Screen Shot 2014-04-14 at 8.09.58 PM I was tweet struck! I couldn’t believe he reached out to me having nearly 100,000 followers always engaging with him. This was the first time I have ever had a memorable moment with a brand or public figure over social media. I bragged to my friends about it, and they became fascinated that Pasquale reached out to me. It might not be the tremendous tasks on his side, but by responding he is listening to my opinion and gaining trust with me. This technique that Rotella is demonstrating is another social strategy- social listening. In my previous post on Social Listening, I highlighted the impact it can have on strengthening relationships with brand advocates, my story is just an example of that. They turned me into a brand advocate for Insomniac! Brands, take note….

